The Domain Renewal Group Scam

I received a letter today which I am reporting to the Mailing Preference Service.It came from a company called the Domain Renewal Group. They have cheekily looked up who owns the domain for this website and written to me, expecting me to renew my domain with them. While they do talk about transferring it to them and thus stay just the right side of honesty, it is a cynical letter designed to get me to pay them, and take out ownership of other similar domains such as and

Fortunately I am savvy enough to realise this is a scam and they won’t get away with it with me. However other people might be frightened into giving them money, thinking that otherwise they will lose their domains, when all they need to do is renew their registration with the company they have used up until now (in my case, WordPress). And why I should transfer to them when they cost twice the price of WordPress and I rely on the WordPress software – well, you tell me.

The company appears to be based in the USA but it came with a reply paid envelope that had a London address on it, and hence I am within my rights to report them to the MPS. I strongly suggest that anybody else in the UK who gets these letters and who is registered with the MPS also reports them. By not checking the MPS list of people who have opted out from direct mail they are breaking British law. Let’s put pressure on these cynical and unscrupulous companies.


  1. Dave..

    A couple of other blogs I follow have received such……and when they have not responded, their blogs have been mysteriously hijacked. Here’s praying this does not happen to you.


  2. I seriously doubt they’ve got any gumption for real maliciousness as they’re basically just confidence tricksters. They’re just preying on people who don’t read the fine print, getting folks to overpay for something they may not know the true cost of, then hopefully gaining control of the domains when they’ve driven away their clients with poor service.

    Google Domain Slamming for a fuller story.


    1. I tried reading the small print and gave up. I get loads of these. I see they’ve stopped using “postage paid” evnelopes (see other blogs!).
      When your web designer recommends they keeps your domain name in registered in their name and address, there is good reason.


  3. Yeah got my first one in the mail the other week and it stressed me out, saying that I had to reply to them before 27th december or I might lose my domain name(but not in those exact words).

    I already knew my domain name only needed renewing later next year, I was confused cause I thought the letter was from my hosting/domain provider. Contacted my hosting/domain provider and they let me know about the scam.

    Got a good mind to contact those ‘domain renewal group’ f**kers and give em a piece of my mind!


  4. Had a letter today saying to renew, i looked at the address site they said i had to renew and it dosn’t relate to my web site in any way, a big big scam,

    They are here.

    Domain Renewal Group
    2316 Delaware Avenue, #266
    Buffalo, New York


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s